Vanrick Allick of Clare Valley is the winner of the 2017 Fisherman of the year title.

Allick’s boat which was the first to return during the Fisherman’s Day activities at Calliaqua yesterday landed 462 pounds of fish.

Second place went to Ray Anthony Clarke who brought in 433 pounds of fish and third place went to Kenroy Bruce who landed 440 pounds of fish.

The First Heaviest single fish in Class One weighing 279 pounds went to Shadrock Pier. The second heaviest fish weighing 38 pounds and the third heaviest single fish weighing 26 pounds went to Mark John.

Meanwhile, the annual Fisherman’s Day prize giving ceremony will be held next Monday June 12, 2017.

The prize giving ceremony was rescheduled to next week after Mondy’s Fisherman’s Day event at the Calliaqua Playing Field was scaled down, following a decision made by Prime minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, out of consideration for the six persons missing at sea since Sunday and their families.

Delivering brief remarks on Monday, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, Saboto Caesar said the event was a reflective moment for us as citizens and asked for persons to be prayerful and to give support to the families of the missing persons as well as the authorities.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here