British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson announced on Thursday an expansion of the UK’s overseas network, with the opening of nine new diplomatic posts across the Commonwealth.

Three of these nine posts will be in the Eastern Caribbean, with new British resident commissioners’ offices in Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda and St Vincent and the Grenadines. These posts, along with the existing resident commissioner’s office in Saint Lucia, will form an expanded network of UK representation in the Eastern Caribbean, under the auspices of the British High Commission in Barbados.

In addition there will be new UK posts in The Bahamas, Lesotho, Swaziland, Samoa, Tonga and Vanuatu.

Announcing the opening of the new posts, Johnson said: “As a Commonwealth family of nations, it is in our shared interest to boost prosperity, tackle security issues and clear up the environment… After we leave the EU, Global Britain will remain outward facing, open for business and a champion of the rules-based international order.”

British High Commissioner to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Janet Douglas, said that the expansion was part of a wider initiative to increase the breadth and depth of UK diplomatic presence across the world.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here