The Ministry of Education has announced the names of the 31 recipients of the National Awards for the academic year 2014-2015.

These students are deemed to have the best claims to these awards based on their performance in the May/June 2015 Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) of the CXC A-Level examinations.

The recipients of the National Scholarship are Kyle James, Daniel Stewart, Paige Veira, David Browne, Laurel Gibson, Omar Edwards, Judaja Prescott, Kaela Barrett, Amog Jayarangaiah, Shanika John, Luzianne Matthias, K-Wani Roberts, Rita Alexander and Sonja Hull.

The recipients of the Exhibition Awards are Kristal Cain, Adrian Constance, Zonique Dublin, Tianna Homer and Allesandro Peters.

And, the Bursary awardees are Jamarl Alexander, Azel Daniel, K’Andrew France-Beckford, Jomol Lewis, Genese Nichols, Antonia Marks, Clint Nelson, Shontae Bacchus, Zachary Williams, Brianna Jack, Najhma McKenzie and Amber-Marie Murphy.

The most outstanding student performance was recorded by Kyle James who gained nine Grade one passes with A profiles in eight subject areas at CAPE.

Kyle sat Chemistry, Physics, Pure Mathematics, French and Communication Studies. He will receive the Prime Minister’s Award for his performance in the examinations.

Recipients of the National Scholarship will receive full funding for a 5 year period of study; and recipients of the Exhibition Awards will receive 3 year’s full funding for their studies, while the Bursary Awardees will receive $20,000 each year for a 3-year period.

The awardees were recognized this morning at the annual Schools Independence Rally at Victoria Park.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here