Members of Parliament (MPs) were officially sworn in yesterday at the ceremonial opening of the first session of the tenth Parliament, following the December 9th General Elections.

The government and opposition MPs took the Oath of Allegiance during the ceremony at the Assembly Chamber in Kingstown.

Carlos James, Debora Charles, Robert (Luke) Browne and Julian Francis were appointed as senators for the Unity Labour Party (ULP) government while Dr. Julian Ferdinand and Ms. Marcia Sherlan Barnwell were appointed senators for the Opposition New Democratic Party (NDP).

Yesterday’s event also saw the election of Jomo Thomas as Speaker of the House and Carlos James as Deputy Speaker.

Meanwhile, the opposition MPs staged a walk out of Parliament just after being sworn in.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here