According to yesterday’s voting at the Organisation of American States (OAS) to suspend Venezuela from the 34-member group, Jamaica was among 19 countries to support the resolution.

According to a report by the Jamaica Observer among the other countries included Bahamas, Barbados, Guyana, while Dominica and St. Vincent and the Grenadines voted against the measure.

Belize, Grenada, Haiti, St. Kitts-Nevis, St Lucia, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago, were among the 11 member states that abstained during the vote.

The resolution was spearheaded by the United States as it condemned President Nicolas Maduro’s re-election last month.

OAS members have expelled only two nations in its history.

Cuba was forced out in 1962 and Honduras was suspended briefly following a 2009 military coup.

The ban of Cuba was lifted in 2009, but the island country rejected re-joining the organisation.

Venezuelan Foreign Minister Jorge Arreaza said Caracas rejected the OAS Assembly’s decision and it would enable the United States to continue its “economic war” against the socialist government.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here