Farmers across St. Vincent and the Grenadines will soon join the thousands in this country, who will receive support for COVID-19. In the case of farmers however, the support will be targeting recovery from the impacts of both COVID-19 and Drought.

Hon. Saboto Caesar, Minister of Agriculture, noted, that the government continues to deliver vital support to farmers, in a bid to further strengten this critical production sector during the COVID 19 pandemic. “Our farmers, fishers, traffickers and technicians, have made us all proud – St. Vincent and the Grenadines can boast of its food security to the world,” he added.

This year’s drought has been recorded as one of the worst droughts experienced in this country in the last fifty (50) years, impacting on both crop and livestock farmers. An assessment by the Ministry of Agriculture, on the impact of Drought 2020 on the agriculture sector, places damage and loss at EC$16,000,000.00.

The registration for the Farmers’ COVID-19 / Drought 2020 Recovery Support, continues on Monday 10th August, 2020. Registration will begin at 10am at thirty (30) registration centres across the country. The objective is to capture the information in an expedient manner.
Farmers wishing to apply for COVID-19/ Drought 2020 relief, are asked to register at the following places:

Barrouallie Community Centre;
Bequia Learning Resource Centre;
Biabou Learning Resource Centre;
Campden Park Community Centre;
Chateaubelair Community Centre;
Colonarie Learning Resource Centre;
Dauphine Community Centre;
Dorsetshire Hill Primary School;
Dumbarton Agriculture Station;
Kingstown (Ministry of Agriculture Headquarters);
Fancy Government School;
La Croix Boxing Plant;
Langley Park Palletisation Centre;
Lauders Agro-processing Centre;
Layou Community Centre;
Pamenos Burke Primary School;
Park Hill Primary School;
Richland Park Government School;
Rillan Hill Learning Resource Centre;
Rivulet Agriculture Station;
Rose Hall Community Centre;
Rose Bank Community Centre;
Sans Souci Learning Resource Centre;
Sandy Bay Learning Resource Centre;
South Rivers Learning Resource Centre;
Stubbs Community Centre;
Troumaca Primary School;
Union Island Learning Resource Centre;
Vermont Community Centre; and
Wallilabou Agriculture Station.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here