The European Union added the Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands to its tax haven blacklist Tuesday, and also put Anguilla back on as a “non-cooperative jurisdiction” just a year after it was removed. 

The EU said it made the additions largely due to “concerns that these three jurisdictions, which all have a zero or nominal-only rate of corporate income tax, are attracting profits without real economic activity.” 

The EU established the blacklist in 2017 to tackle rampant tax evasion. Twelve “jurisdictions” are now considered non-cooperative: American Samoa, Anguilla, the Bahamas, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, the Turks and Caicos Islands, the US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu. 

EU member countries are not screened for possible inclusion on the blacklist. 

The list, which is updated every six months, requires the 27 EU countries to take “defensive measures” against the named jurisdictions. 

Taiwan National Day Celebration


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here