The 53 member states of the Commonwealth have pledged to support Guyana in the ongoing maritime border dispute with Venezuela.

Commonwealth Secretary General Kamalesh Sharma, sought to assure the government of the groupings commitment on his arrival there on Saturday.

Sharma, who met with government officials, said the Commonwealth has “moved swiftly and appropriately in collective solidarity with Guyana”.

The issue has also been placed on the agenda of the Commonwealth Foreign Affairs Ministers meeting to be held in New York in September.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here