Cabinet has approved forty-eight national scholarships, national exhibitions, a special award and bursaries to students who sat the CAPE and Associate Degree examinations in 2019.

The 48 National Scholarships includes the top ten (10) National Scholarships, Eight (8) National Exhibitions, Twenty-nine (29) Bursaries and One (1) Special award.

The top 10 National Scholarship recipients are Ianà Ferguson, who will receive the Prime Minister’s Award; Shane Cadogan – the Robert Milton Cato Scholarship; Melissa Adams – the George Augustus Mc Inrtosh Scholarship; Christalle Wilson – the Ebenezer Theodore Joshua Scholarship; Rasheed Fontenelle – the Dr. J.P. Eustace Scholarship; Karine Sampson – the Sir Vincent Beache Scholarship; Jordan Lawrence-Hamlett – the Norma Keizer Scholarship; Devron Blugh – The Bertram “Timmy” Richards Scholarship; Rachelle Bradshaw – the Yvonne Francis-Gibson Scholarship; and Aranique Jackson – Alban Henry Scholarship.

Ianà Ferguson won the coveted Prime Minister’s Award for the best academic performance. In addition to her full scholarship, Ferguson will receive an appropriate medal and an award of $20,000.00, which has been an increase for 2019 by 100 percent.

Shane Cadogan, in placing second, is awarded the sum of $10,000 in addition to his full scholarship. This is the first time that a cash award has been added to the benefits of the second-placed academic performance.

Last year 48 students were awarded – he commended all students for their achievements.
A release from the Office of the Prime Minister states that the criteria for these awards and the recommendations – came from the officials of the Ministry of Education and the Director of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Community College, and was accepted by Cabinet.

All National Scholars have their tuition and economic cost as per University of the West Indies benchmarks paid by the Government of St. Vincent and the Grenadines – plus a monthly sum adequate for all living expenses (board and lodging) and associated expenses.

The National Scholarships cover five years’ university education.

Mr. Ronnie Richardson has been granted a Special Award with all the benefits of a National Exhibition winner, topping the students who obtained Associate Degrees. Richardson obtained his qualification in Teacher Education (Secondary). He is over 21 years of age, the maximum age, under the rules, for national scholars and national exhibition winners; he was born in 1989.

The first twelve-named Bursary recipients sat the CAPE Examination; the last seventeen-named obtained Associate Degrees.

Bursaries are for three (3) years’ university education with an annual value of $25,000 (up from $20,000).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here