The Government of Jamaica has lifted its ban on individuals entering the island from countries affected by Ebola, with immediate effect.

According to the Jamaica Observer, a release from the security ministry yesterday said the decision was made recently by Cabinet, and was guided by recent indications received from the World Health Organization (WHO) in light of the reduction of cases worldwide, especially in countries that were directly affected by the virus.

In October 2014, the Jamaican Government imposed the ban on people resident in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, as well as individuals who had travelled to, or transited through the three countries.

The WHO now says the criteria it established to declare the end of any known transmission of the Ebola virus have been met, and as such has declared an end to the outbreak in the three key countries where the virus had been most prevalent: Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here